My Journey To  Tech

My Journey To Tech

  1. Technology

  2. Introduction

  3. Front-End development

  4. My Career in Tech

  5. Task and Commitment

  6. Reference

  7. Conclusion

Technology

Technology is the application of knowledge to reach practical goals in a specifiable and reproducible way. The word technology may also mean the product of such an endeavor. The use of technology is widely prevalent in information/communication, medicine, science, industry, transportation, and daily life.

Information Technology Information technology (IT) is the bedrock of modern enterprise organizations. The term refers to computer systems, software, internet, and other infrastructure that enables an organization's core capabilities. Forward-thinking organizations view IT as a competitive advantage that allows them to work smarter and achieve their business goals.

Depending on an organization's size, the IT department is typically led by the chief information officer (CIO), chief technology officer (CTO), VP of information technology, or IT director. The department may include engineers, operators, systems architects, analysts, product managers, and project managers.

The work IT teams carry out each day is broad and varies by company. It can involve day-to-day tasks like systems administration, tech support, and security patch management.

Introduction

The internet is a global tool used to share and gain information. The internet is the network of connected computers that the web works on, as well as what emails and files travel across. Think of the internet as the roads that connect towns and cities together.

The World Wide Web [WWW] World Wide Web is information system on the internet which allows documents to be connected to other documents by hypertext links, enabling the user to search for information by moving from one document to another.

Web Developer

A web developer is at heart an interactive artist. They’re someone driven by a deep desire to create things. A web developer’s canvas is a user’s web browser. A web developer’s job is to use the basic building blocks of the web (like HTML, CSS and JavaScript) to create something complex like a webpage. It is also the web developer’s job to diagnose problems in a website’s functionality, to understand how something works by reading the code behind it, and to make changes to fix any issues. That essentially makes web developers the physicians of the world wide web. When we talk about the world wide web, we’re mainly referring to websites and web applications.

Front-End Development

According to languages.oup.com/google-dictionary-en

Frontend: "Computing, relating to or denoting the part of a computer system or application with which the user interacts directly".

according to techterms.com "The frontend of a software program or website is everything with which the user interacts. From a user standpoint, the frontend is synonymous with the user interface. From a developer standpoint, it is the interface design and the programming that makes the interface function."

Career in Tech

Coding.jfif My gaining admission into tertiary institution in the heart of Enugu; South Eastern Nigeria gave birth to passion for IT. Though I used to have my computer sit in front of me for hours playing my favorite games. Of course it was fun playing them and scrolling through social media on bigger screen than mobile devices. I never thought of career in tech, but Duncan Sheik 's words, and I quote "It's inevitable your environment will influence what you do" happened.

Seeing young ladies work amongst men and some of these ladies head in their different departments in my school IT center, I began to like having time to do more with my computer than just games. The admiration for young people in tech made me desire to be one; hence my passion for tech.

I was still wondering how and where to start hence I had no fundamental knowledge on tech nor a computer science degree or any computer related course certificate, the worry about how to start and cope in a core computer based skill was a threat.

2.png

Immediately after my graduation in February 2022, I started going to web development sites and checking Youtube HTML tutorial videos. I was ready but fund was a challenge as I did not have as much as boot camps charge for physical training so I continued trying my online learning site just to keep dream alive while saving up for registration. It was not easy but I kept on doing it until a friend told me about ADA SOFTWARE ENGINEERING PROGRAM.

dont give up.jpg It was 'wow' news, because it was nothing short answered prayer. At this moment, I still didn't have enough money for registration despite that TechAda Program charge was quite long. I was so enthusiastic and rushed down to EnuguTecHub, I did not want to loose such an amazing opportunity of learning with fellow passion driven females.

After the first visit to the hub, I came back a few days after and made my payment.

Task and commitment

As a certain saying goes, nothing good comes easy, Frontend is no exception, at this very stage, I can say that website developing is very tasking. “Learning to write programs stretches your mind, and helps you think better, creates a way of thinking about things that I think is helpful in all domains.” - Bill Gates 3.png This journey has been time and resource consuming and tasking but it is worth it and more.

Conclusion

To the glory of God and appreciation to Tech Ada, I am in the first of my Tech road Map.

thanks.jpg

Reference

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technology

alison.com

aha.io

careerfoundry.com

techterms.com

languages.oup.com/google-dictionary-en